Ubuntu on Compaq Presario V2000

A few months ago I installed Ubuntu (8.04 Hardy Heron) on my Compaq Presario V2000 laptop. The install went pretty well, except that wifi didn’t work.  It turned out that my laptop had a Broadcom BCM4318 wifi card which has a proprietary driver. So it required some extra steps to get going.  I scanned the internet for a bit and found that it ended up being pretty simple.  Note that I had ethernet connected so I would have access to the internet.

apt-get install b43-fwcutter

After installing I gave it a reboot (probably not strictly necessary but Windows has conditioned me this way) and my wifi LED lit up!  A bit of setup to connect to my router and I was back on wireless!

Unfortunately I didn’t have enough time to get everything set up that my wife would need (mostly an iTunes replacement and streaming video in firefox) so I ended up putting WInXP back on.  I didn’t see enough of a performance improvement to justify the time it would take.  Maybe later though… If so I will put a more full install guide on here.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a comment