Debug C run-time issues

For the past few weeks I’ve been struggling with issues of using libraries or apps built under Visual Studio 2005 in Debug on a separate testing machine.  When trying to register a dll I would get the error:

This application has failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect. Reinstalling the application may fix the problem.

Dependency Walker (a very cool tool for diagnosing what dlls an app is looking for) indicated that msvcr80d.dll could not be found. I tried copying a copy of this dll I found on my dev machine but it didn’t work. It must have been the wrong one because the real solution is similar. Basically I needed to copy the dlls from the appropriate Visual Studio redist folder into the same folder as my dll.

Not suprisingly, I found the above link much more useful in solving my problem than the MSDN documentation. I find that Microsofts docs give you a tiny amount of information and point you to somewhere else to findmore information, which is generally not the information you are looking for. Why can’t they just answer the question?!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

